Loader
reviews meraki

REVIEWS

“Moriah really took her time to make my salon experience the best it could be. I felt comfortable with all the adjustment we made to color and cut my hair and left feeling wonderful! Highly recommend her to others”

— Shay V 11/16/2013 img img img img img

“My experience in one word… AMAZING! The staff was friendly and welcoming. Jeff worked miracles with my hair (it was a mess!) and Mariah was wonderful with my daughter. The salon is absolutely beautiful and spotless! I will never go anywhere else again!”

— Tara A 11/16/2013 img img img img img

“could not ask for more, everyone so pleasant starting with the owner, the hair dressers, all the way to the shampoo girls. you get exactly what you want, you actually come out of there looking and feeling beautiful and relaxed. THANK YOU GEMMETTE FOR A WONDERFUL DAY!!!!!!!!!(:”

— Susan G 11/15/2013 img img img img img

“Jeff and the staff at Gemmette are amazing! I am thrilled with my hair color, cut and the treatments provided. The staff is professional and courteous and Jeff is an expert in his field.”

— Annmarie R 11/14/2013 img img img img img

“The staff is courteous and welcoming. Jeff does my hair. He listens to your requests as well as offering good suggestions to make sure that you are totally satisfied. He is a superb colorist and stylist.”

— Jane G 11/13/2013 img img img img img

“Every time I walk through their door, I feel welcomed and relaxed. Starting from the hair wash to the hair cut , ending with checkout the time spent was wonderful.”

— Pam M 11/10/2013 img img img img img

“Excellent quality and service!”

— Jessica M 11/09/2013 img img img img img

“Hi there I did provide feedback I don't know where it went. FABULOUS! Tom your the best! I would recommend this shop with a 10 star! Courteous. Very concerned on ones needs, breakdown of exactly you want done and your option to choose. No hard sale. Decor is beautiful. Lots of luck! I'll be back! Rose P.”

— Rose P 11/08/2013 img img img img img

“Aways a amazing time !!! Tom is kind wonderful and does a excellent job ... Staff is frendly and helpful”

— Jennifer C 11/08/2013 img img img img img

“The service was really excellent. The staff is well trained and very attentive . Recommend it highly”

— Anonymous 11/08/2013 img img img img img

“Beautiful place, very warm personal, greAt work done on my hair. Recommend Tom very highly. Explained everything thoroughly, quoted price before work was done. Very good business etiquette. Keep up the great work. Rose a very satisfied customer!”

— Rose P 11/07/2013 img img img img img

“One word ... AMAZING!!! Jeff and his team are attentive, patient, and above all talented!!! They are creative geniuses! The service rivals any 5 star salon in Manhattan, Staten Island is extremely lucky to have Gemmette Hair Studio servicing the community. Their services are magical, you will leave feeling beautiful! Put your hair in the hands of the experts, you are worth it!!! Thanks for my last visit guys .... I am getting RAVES from everyone!!!”

— Lana T 11/05/2013 img img img img img

“Once again Gemmette Hair Studio has exceeded my expectations. The staff is always warm and friendly, and very professional. I love being greeted with a smile and and a delicious cappuccino. The salon has a very cool and warm vibe, the decor is beautiful and very tasteful. Tom is an amazing stylist and colorist, I walked out feeling beautiful.”

— Diana B 11/04/2013 img img img img img

“My first experience was great. Kristen was great! I will be back”

— Felicie H 11/04/2013 img img img img img

“I had a truly wonderful experience at Gemmette this past week. My mom and I saw Jessica for cut and color. She was kind and attentive and genuinely cared about our needs. She's also very talented, and transformed my long, dull, damaged mess into a sleek, healthy, ready-for-fall style. Additionally, our hair washer/masseuse was amazing. The complimentary massages are divine and such a nice, unexpected touch. I felt like everything I wanted was taken care of, and I will be a client for years to come!”

— Rachel M 11/02/2013 img img img img img

“Everytime I go to Gemmette I love it more! Jessica is the best! She's awesome and I know whatever she does to my hair it will look great!”

— Maryann M 10/31/2013 img img img img img

“The staff is friendly. The place is beautiful & clean . Tom gives fabulous haircuts . He is really talented and gives you exactly what you ask for.”

— Anonymous 10/26/2013 img img img img img

“Kristin was awesome! My hair looks great!”

— Christine Q 10/23/2013 img img img img img

“Great experience. Wonderful salon. Beautifully decorated.”

— Lisa L 10/23/2013 img img img img

“I had an great experience! The amount of compliments I'm getting on my hair are endless! :]”

— Laura P 10/21/2013 img img img img

“Tom did an excellent job. Very professional. My hair looked fabulous.”

— Janine G 10/19/2013 img img img img img

“As always, it's such a pleasant experience and Tom makes my hair look great!”

— Alexandra B 10/14/2013 img img img img img

“Enjoy everything about the salon, would recommend it to everyone!”

— Rose D 10/14/2013 img img img img img

“I felt very comfortable. The staff was aces!!!! This is a very warm environment. I will def come back;).”

— Dorothy S 10/13/2013 img img img img img

“As always, Moriah did a BEAUTIFUL job. She is truly amazing!!!!”

— Doreen Q 10/12/2013 img img img img img

“Everyone helps to make the experience a pleasant one. Kristin is so talented.”

— Susan M 10/11/2013 img img img img img

“I love coming to get my hair done at Gemette. The staff and my stylist Tom are so nice, thank you”

— Angela D 10/07/2013 img img img img img

“Moriah is an amazing stylist and actually listens to what you want. Everyone in the salon and is kind and accommodating.”

— Anonymous 10/05/2013 img img img img img

“A very pleasant experience. Fantastic complimentary head/scalp massage with shampoo. I booked my appointment for cut/blow with Jessica and I was very pleased with the service. Will definitely return and have already recommended Jessica to two people I know. Very pleased!!”

— Laura T 09/30/2013 img img img img img

“Service and Expertise are top notch!!!!!”

— Anonymous 09/29/2013 img img img img img

“Always a good experience. Nice staff. Nice atmosphere. Never disappointed when I leave the salon. Love my hairdresser., Morhia.”

— Elaine C 09/29/2013 img img img img img

“The salon is the most professional and enjoyable salon I have ever been too. I never enjoyed getting a haircut so much in my life. I go to Tom and he is the greatest. He listens and gives you exactly what you are looking for, but most of all he cares about his work. He asks for my opinion and is there anything he could do different to satisfy me.Overall great experience, I will be going back for future haircuts.”

— Russell F 09/22/2013 img img img img img

“Another visit to Gemmette Hair Studio - another beautiful cut/style by Moriah!”

— Claire D 09/21/2013 img img img img img

“Wonderful as usual... Very professional and polite staff...”

— Sally P 09/17/2013 img img img img img

“My experience at Gemmentee Hair studio is always nothing but amazing! Not only are they the best in the hair industry, but they as well are the most genuinely kind and caring staff! Each and every person that works there makes your experience there to feel like your amongst family. I always look forward to my next appointment.... not only am i getting my hair done by the BEST....but seeing friends.”

— Anonymous 09/17/2013 img img img img img

“The whole staff goes out of their way to make each appointment pleasurable. Adriana adjusted my color to perfection.”

— Shay V 09/17/2013 img img img img img

“Moriah was awesome as always! She is so professional and really listens to what the client wants. My hair has never been more healthy since I started going to her!”

— Cara L 09/16/2013 img img img img img

“Great service, and great hair cut love it... Jeff did an awesome job on my daughters hair and mine... Very very satisfied...”

— KATHERINE B 09/10/2013 img img img img img

“Great service. The entire staff was friendly and professional.”

— Lori V 09/10/2013 img img img img img

“Moriah was excellent my hair came out gorgeous and have received so many rave reviews on the color and cut. Michael was so nice and gentle when he wash out my hair.”

— Theresa F 09/07/2013 img img img img img

“The atmosphere, attention and service was superb. I was able to relax while having my hair done. I love my new stylist Mariah...she was wonderful. Looking forward to my next appointment. :-)”

— Sarah M 09/07/2013 img img img img img

“I have been going to Moriah @ Gemette for a while. She know how to cut hair!!! I have short hair and I am trying to grow it out. Her haircut is sooo good that I don't feel any awkward stage, which usually makes me chop it off again. Great colorist as well. Love Gemette Hair Studio and highly recommend it.”

— Michelle Pisano 09/06/2013 img img img img img

“My first experience at Gemmette was wonderful. The ambiance of the salon is chic, warm and charming. Jeff and his staff attended to details I have never before experienced in either Manhattan or Staten Island, such as putting plastic liners over the arms of my glasses so that I could read while awaiting my hair color to set. For the first time in a long time I didn't geta "shower" while having a shampoo and best of all I didn't have to leave the salon with a halo ofdye on the skin around my scalp and/or neck. Their attention to detail was was most appreciated. Toping off these attributes was a great haircut. Kudos to Jeff and his staff for a job very well done!”

— Margherita S 09/06/2013 img img img img img

“As usual, a wonderful experience at Gemmette Hair Studio. Professional, friendly, and courteous service. I have been getting my hair done by Jeff for many years and my hair always looks great. I receive many compliments on his work. I highly recommend Gemmette Hair Studio.”

— Leigh S 08/26/2013 img img img img img

“Wonderful, amazing, friendly and much more. Got my botched haircut completely fixed and then some. Wonderful staff and amazing time. I would recommend this place to anyone!!”

— Cristina G 08/26/2013 img img img img img

“So far, so good. The staff is friendly and accommodating. Tom is easy to talk to, and knows his stuff. Now, let's see what happens when I try to do the new 'do' on my own!!!”

— Anonymous 08/25/2013 img img img img

“As always Jeff iwas beyond amazing! Nicole seems like a lovely addition to the team. She was so attentive and enthusiastic, it was contagious, great energy! She provided 5 star service, I will request her in the future..”

— Lana T 08/22/2013 img img img img img

“AWESOME!”

— Kristy V 08/18/2013 img img img img img

“As always Jeff did a fabulous job on my hair. He is very skilled and gives an easy to work with haircut. His skill as a colorist is also exceptional.”

— Kathy F 08/16/2013 img img img img img

“I found this salon from the Internet and it has a good review so I decided to try, beside the salon itself right next to jcc where my daughter goes for her summer gymnastic, so it perfect time while I wait my daughter to finish up her class. My experience is amazing. They offer 3 types of service after shampooing scalp treatment, neck and shoulder massage, and deep conditioning(I'm nit sure the last part is right i short if forgot) which I've never found in other salon. And my stylist Jessica is amazing. She really take her time toile sure that the cut is perfect and very detail, and the result is amazing. I love it! And I've received a lot of compliment for my hair. I'm definitely will go back for Jessica. I'm highly recommend this place for new customer who's looking for great salon.”

— Alyssa S 08/15/2013 img img img img img

“Always love the staff. Do great work and very welcoming to me and my daughters.”

— Suzanne L 08/14/2013 img img img img img

“I had a wonderful experience! From the moment you walk in you are warmly welcomed. The staff was kind and very professional and I left looking and feeling "like a million bucks!" :-) I would most definitely recommend this salon!”

— Mariana M 08/03/2013 img img img img img

“Great work as always ... Love Tom!-Michela”

— Anonymous 07/26/2013 img img img img img

“EVERYTHING was perfect. Most importantly, my cut and color transformed me. As a bonus, the entire salon experience was wonderful - from the coffee to the hair wash to the complimentary paraffin wax treatment. Everyone is professional and kind.”

— Linda B 07/22/2013 img img img img img

“Gemmette Hair Studio delivers a salon experience that is second to none. Upon walking into the salon you are greeted by friendly and attentive staff that go out of their way to make you as comfortable as possible. Enjoy a cup of coffee, tea, or even a glass of wine while you wait to see your stylist. Let the pampering begin! Recieve a complementary massage as your hair is washed beneath a flower-strewn canopy. And if you're feeling extra indulgent you can choose a deep conditioning treatment from their menu, which has something to offer people with all hair types. I have been a client of owner Jeff Gemmette's for nearly ten years and I have yet to be disappointed! Jeff as well as his other expertly trained stylists carefully listen to what it is that you want, rather than some other scissor-happy hairdressers you might have encountered in the past. In addition to the talented stylists, all of the hair products that they use are absolutely amazing. I cannot end this review without commenting on how beautifully designed the salon is. If you are looking for an exceptional hair stylist and unparalleled customer service, make your next appointment at Gemmette Hair Studio- it's worth it!”

— Ariana M 07/19/2013 img img img img img

“Jessica is a star what a terrific hairdresser. It was my first time at the salon. I was nervous the staff was exceptionally friendly. Jessica did a Brazilian straightening on my hair, she explained everything. She was very sweet and initiated conversation. She has it all. A very strong asset to your hair salon. I will be back!”

— Carole M 07/18/2013 img img img img img

“I had a wonderful time at the salon. The staff is courteous, attentive and super professional. The products are amazing and I never feel like they are pushing me to buy anything (which is very much appreciated) Jeff was...what can I say? The man is a genious!!! Love, love , love him!”

— Ana L 07/16/2013 img img img img img

“Great place. Everyone was so friendly and Adriana did a great job with my hair.”

— Marisa F 07/16/2013 img img img img img

“As always, a great experience. Jeff is a master. My color , cut and blowout were perfect.”

— Stefanie C 07/16/2013 img img img img img

“Left very happy as usual!”

— Joanna P 07/14/2013 img img img img img

“Great experience as always! I love the place, the service and the staff.”

— Janette R 07/07/2013 img img img img img

“Loved my haircut by Tom. Even loved the shampoo and massage. I left feeling and looking 10 years younger.”

— Janine G 07/05/2013 img img img img img

“My experience at Gemmette's is always great. Tom knows exactly what to do with my hair even without me saying a word.”

— Gina V 07/01/2013 img img img img img

“My first experience at Gemmette Hair Studio was great. I was given the best shampoo I have ever had, got a good hair cut and was treated like royalty. I already started to recommend it to my family & friends.”

— Linda N 06/29/2013 img img img img img

“From the moment I walk into the salon I am treated like I am the other client that matters. It is wonderful. The salon is paradise and the staff is superb.”

— Joanne C 06/29/2013 img img img img img

“Moriah was wonderful! She did an excellent job on my cut and color!”

— Anonymous 06/21/2013 img img img img img

“Your staff is welcoming and friendly - they made me feel at home! Your salon is decorated beautifully and was so inviting visually! It was pouring rain when I got theee and your wonderful workers offered me coffee right away and I immediately started to relax and unwind. My hair looks great, too!!!”

— Maryann M 06/20/2013 img img img img img

“As always, Jeff and his staff are professional, courteous and prompt. My corrective color process was fast and easy and the results were gorgeous.I started out with damaged hair that had no shine and walked out with a glossy, shiny and gorgeous hairstyle.Will keep coming back.”

— Alina V 06/16/2013 img

“My experience was delightful as always! I love my new look. I walked in with long lifeless hair and walked out hip and fashionable! Thank you. <3 D”

— Diana B 06/15/2013 img img img img img

“wonderful as usual”

— Anonymous 06/15/2013 img img img img img

“Great, professional experience as always.”

— Danka A 06/10/2013 img img img img img

“very happy with blow out and updo for my nieces Sweet 16”

— Arianna P 06/09/2013 img img img img img

“My first time here & first impression was very good I was greeted immediately by a friendly young woman my hairstylist came to me shortly after that she also was friendly greeted me by name introduced herself & told me what my service would cost n for she began I had a very pleasant experience very satisfied with my cut - yes I will go back very glad I have it a try --- u won't b dissapointed”

— Debra H 06/04/2013 img img img img img

“Always a good experience !!”

— Elaine C 06/04/2013 img img img img img

“love love love my new hair-do! Kristen is the best!”

— Olga K 06/03/2013 img img img img img

“Great experience! Jessica was amazing! Will def go back!”

— Anonymous 06/03/2013 img img img img img

“Fabulous haircut by Jeff as usual!!”

— Kathy F 06/03/2013 img img img img img

“"Love" is the word I use for this place ...great people .....can't wait to return ......”

— Kathy D 06/03/2013 img img img img img

“I have been going to Gemmette for about 8 months now. I originally went because I purchased a Groupon. I had never heard of it before. It's was the best Groupon I have ever purchased. Gemmette is definitely the best hair salon I have ever been to. I always go to mariah who, in my eyes,is the best. I constantly get compliments on my hair, from the cut to the coloring. My daughter just had her prom and Tom did her hair and Mariah did her makeup. She was being asked all night, "who did your hair and makeup?" She looked beautiful!! I highly recommend this salon and especially Mariah and Tom. They are the only two I had the pleasure of dealing with,but I am sure that they are all excellent.”

— Doreen Q 06/01/2013 img img img img img

“As usual it was great.”

— Marion J 05/26/2013 img img img img img

“Once again Moriah did an outstanding job cutting & styling my thick, curly hair. The complimentary scalp massage is always a delight!”

— Claire D 05/25/2013 img img img img img

“This was my second visit to Gemmette and I couldn't be happier. Jessica does extraordinary work, and I have been complimented by many people, including other stylists from other shops! I am thrilled to have finally found her, after many, many years of trying various shops and stylists and not being happy. She explains everything she is about to do, and recommends what she thinks would be best, and most of all listens to what I want. She is a gem!”

— Linda C 05/20/2013 img img img img img

“I love going to GEMMETTE! Everyone is always so nice, and Tom is amazing! He never disappoints, and I always leave there feeling terrific. In the few years I've been going there, Tom has brought new life to my hair! Thank you, Tom!!”

— Randi O 05/13/2013 img img img img

“Wonderful!”

— Louise W 05/13/2013 img img img img img

“I was very very happy with the cut and style”

— Linda A 05/11/2013 img img img img img

“This was my first time to the salon and I was very impressed. I liked everything about it from the atmosphere to the friendliness of the front desk staff. I love the cut, have never gotten more compliments on a hairstyle before. What I did not enjoy was the stylist herself. She asked questions about what I wanted before I was washed but while she was cutting my hair she just seemed generally disinterested. No attempts to make conversation, when I tried I got one word answers. It was akward the whole time. I would go back again but I would ask for a different stylist.”

— Anonymous 05/10/2013 img img img img

“I was very happy with my highlights & haircut. Moriah did a wonderful job.”

— Chrissy C 05/06/2013 img img img img img

“The stylist did a wonderful job with my hair. But she didn't really try to talk to me much.”

— Anonymous 05/04/2013 img img img

“From the moment you walk through the door you are treated with kindness and professionalism. Gemmette's atmosphere is warm and soothing, and I found it to be very relaxing. Jessica did a terrific job on my hair, and I will definitely be back!”

— Linda C 04/22/2013 img img img img img

“My experience is always a great one with Tom. I trust him so much that I don't even tell him what kind of cut I want I just leave it up to him and I haven't been disappointed yet!!!”

— Gina V 04/20/2013 img img img img img

“Thanks Jeff and staff...I had a superb experience. I received many compliments on both my hair style and color! You made me feel pampered! The espresso was the clincher! See you soon!”

— Maria P 04/14/2013 img img img img img

“purchased a Groupon and am so happy I did! Jessica cut/styled my new look and I absolutely love it! she listened to what I wanted and I asked for her opinion too, as the professional, & she gave me a beautiful style! The staff is so friendly and accommodating & the decor is so peaceful and tranquil. The compliementary services are an unexpected bonus! I will definitely be back!”

— Nancy D 04/11/2013 img img img img

“Purchased a groupon and was pleasantly surprised!! I had my hair cut/styled and blown by Jessica, she was such a doll! She actually listened to what I wanted! She cut my hair with such care and precision and gave me what i asked for (only better!) i will definitely be back to see her! (The complimentary services offered at this salon are fantastic, the decor is so peaceful and tasteful and the staff are so friendly and welcoming) great experience, as a hair salon visit should be!! Thank you!”

— Nan Staten Island 04/10/2013 img img img img img

“Awesome service but too long of a stay would like for the time to be less than three hours next time !”

— Anonymous 04/07/2013 img img img img

“I love my hair. Excellent service. My stylist took me right away.”

— Melissa S 04/07/2013 img img img img img

“Loved it!! Exactly what I wanted my hair to look like !”

— Melissa C 04/01/2013 img img img img img

“Wonderful as always! Warm and Inviting atmosphere. Jeff and his team consistently hit it out of the park. Who needs to go to manhattan when the best is on Staten Island. By the way I drive from Long Island to be seen by the best and it is well worth it! LT”

— Lana T 03/30/2013 img img img img img

“The experience was awesome!”

— Vanessa D 03/25/2013 img img img img img

“As always a great haircut, massage and the atmosphere is always pretty.”

— Kathy F 03/22/2013 img img img img img

“Always a great experience”

— Christine M 03/11/2013 img img img img img

“Moriah,Thank you for doing such an awesome job on my hair. I love my new cut. The service at Gemmette is always exceptional. Lissette”

— Lissette G 03/11/2013 img img img img

“Tom is a master stylist and always does perfection”

— Cathy I 03/10/2013 img img img img img